Royal Glen Hotel hotel logohotel logo
Our Customer Satisfaction Index
88%

"Excellent"

Based on 761 reviews across 4 portals
:
By Alison M.
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
4 days ago (24/04/2017)

We had a lovely break, and wish it could have been longer. thank you

Location





5 / 5.0

level access to the town and seafront

Room





5 / 5.0

Henry suite was spacious and comfortable

Cleanliness





4 / 5.0

Apart from the room which was a little dusty, the rest of the hotel and bathrooms are very clean

Service





5 / 5.0

Attentive and friendly service from all colleagues

Price





4 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0

Porridge and cooked breakfast - perfect

Restaurant





5 / 5.0

lovely varied menu, beautifully cooked and presented

Bar





5 / 5.0

Enjoyed the redesigned bar for drinks and coffee, bright and comfortably

By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
5 days ago (23/04/2017)

You kindly upgraded my room to a double, this resulted in a useable space . If I had been staying with my wife the room would have been too small.( for example- There are two small chairs which were uncomfortable and lacked leg room as they too close to the bed) That said I found the room reasonable.

Thank you for making a review, your comments are taken seriously and every effort is made to improve on our Guests' experiences.
Location





5 / 5.0
Room





3 / 5.0

Weak shower and not hot

Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





3 / 5.0
Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





3 / 5.0

Coffee looked strong but lacked any flavour, the sausages had similar problems

Swimming pool





3 / 5.0
By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
1 week ago (20/04/2017)

I was looking forward to staying at the Royal Glen as I had seen it on my previous visits to Sidmouth (stayed at the Victoria and the Harbour) But I was extremely disappointed, and that is an undestatement.

Location





5 / 5.0

Excellent location - close to the sea and shops. Good parking too.

Room





2 / 5.0

Extremely noisy both from both upstairs and from the room at the side. I could hear what the chap was doing in the bathroom adjacent to my room - not plesant at all and certainly not something I expected (or wanted) to hear.

Cleanliness





3 / 5.0

The toilet stopped working.

Service





3 / 5.0

The waiter in the dining room looked very bored and not very adept at silver service. Needs more training.

Price





3 / 5.0

It would have been o.k. if the noise hadn't been so loud and obtrusive.

Breakfast





4 / 5.0

o.k. but the bacon had so obviously been cooked quite some time before service. Tough and cold.

Restaurant





2 / 5.0

If I hadn't have known the meat was pork, I certainly could not have guessed from either the taste or texture of the meat. Extremely poor. Vegetables were undercooked (not al dente!!). The treacle tart had been microwaved to within an inch of its life - the pastry was rock hard and the treacle extremely chewy. For the poor quality of the meal it was very overpriced.

By P and K B.
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
1 week ago (20/04/2017)

The overall service excellent,all gave us the feeling that they loved working at the Royal Glen.Would come again and stay for a few more days.The location good and quiet suited us very well.Might go for a bedroom with bath and shower next.Will certainly try and come back next year/

Thank you for making a review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Location





5 / 5.0

Very good location,close to seafront shops and bus stop.

Room





5 / 5.0

Room small but suited for the few days we were there.

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0

We were very happy with service the staff were brilliant.

Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0

The breakfast and dinner exceptional could not fault it or service,brilliant.

Bar





5 / 5.0
Swimming pool





5 / 5.0
By B.Mace
Leisure traveler
70-79 years
1 week ago (19/04/2017)

It was a pleasure to stay but we were disappointed with the room as it did not meet the standards that we have experienced in other places.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





2 / 5.0

Torn chair cover and lampshade.Stained tables.

Cleanliness





2 / 5.0

Black in parts of shower and worn basin.

Service





5 / 5.0
Price





2 / 5.0

Because the room was shabby.

Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Bar





4 / 5.0
Swimming pool





4 / 5.0

Shabby chairs.

By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
1 week ago (19/04/2017)

Lovely hotel, very friendly and great location. Love that we can take our dog there.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





4 / 5.0
Restaurant





3 / 5.0
Bar





3 / 5.0
Swimming pool





4 / 5.0
By Sally W.
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
1 week ago (19/04/2017)

Had a great time. Staff very helpful and ideal location for town and beach. Weather was excellent as well which made our break xx

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





4 / 5.0
Price





4 / 5.0
Breakfast





4 / 5.0
By Sue M.
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
1 week ago (18/04/2017)

A lovely stay in a nice quiet hotel. Our dog loved it too.

Location





5 / 5.0

Loved being able to sit outside the drawing room in the sunshine.

Room





5 / 5.0

Nice clean room. Would like the room that has access to the garden next time.

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0

Spotless and Maria was a joy to talk to!!

Service





5 / 5.0

Everyone friendly and helpful

Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0
Bar





4 / 5.0

Wasn't keen on the lager!!

By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
40-49 years
2 weeks ago (17/04/2017)

A thoroughly pleasant stay in a hotel with friendly, helpful staff and good food.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





4 / 5.0
Bar





5 / 5.0
By Deb
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
2 weeks ago (16/04/2017)

Very pleasant stay. Breakfast staff very polite Pool small only used once changing area could be better Would recommend to friends definitely

Location





4 / 5.0
Room





3 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





4 / 5.0
Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





4 / 5.0
Swimming pool





3 / 5.0
Back to top CERTIFICATE what's this?