Royal Glen Hotel hotel logohotel logo
Our Customer Satisfaction Index
88%

"Excellent"

Based on 783 reviews across 4 portals
:
By Hopkins
Leisure traveler
80+ years
3 months ago (10/05/2017)

Very good as usual although room 12 was rather small. Food and service were superb.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





3 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0
Bar





5 / 5.0
Swimming pool





5 / 5.0
By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
70-79 years
3 months ago (10/05/2017)

Apart from a couple of glitches very good. Originally my wife and I were coming down to Sidmouth for my visit to the RM at Lympstone which was cancelled at the last minute, but we decided to have a five day break anyway. Pity we did not know that it was Donkey Week at the Sanctuary. It seemed as though the hotel was taken over by enthusiasts. We will return later in the year.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0

The water in the walk in shower was not running away properly. I inspected the filter in the shower drain and it was very dirty and filled with hair. I cleaned it out and the water was free flowing.

Service





4 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





3 / 5.0

On occasion, if we came down for breakfast later in the session items were cold and fried egg yolk was hard.

Restaurant





4 / 5.0

Roast new potatoes were on the menu every night. Tried once and they did not taste very nice.

By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
3 months ago (10/05/2017)

Very pleasant stay as always. Room immaculate and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. What could be improved is the dinner which remains resolutely old-fashioned. It's the only thing about the hotel that hasn't retained its period charm!

Location





4 / 5.0
Room





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





4 / 5.0
Price





4 / 5.0
Breakfast





4 / 5.0
Restaurant





3 / 5.0
By Nigel C.
Leisure traveler
80+ years
4 months ago (07/05/2017)

We were glad to stay again in your excellent hottest.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





4 / 5.0
Price





4 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0
Bar





4 / 5.0
By Anonymous
Business traveler
60-69 years
4 months ago (03/05/2017)

Lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed it. One contretemps when I asked to have a cheese sandwich having been out for lunch. Sharp lady behind bar said I'd have to wait until dinner service was over despite it being in the brochure as available and only 2 dining at the time. Lovely Eastern European lady sorted it out as being no problem.

Location





5 / 5.0
Room





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





3 / 5.0
Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





4 / 5.0

Good choices except not enough fresh fruit & no pastries after 0800

Restaurant





3 / 5.0

Had to choose ahead as I am vegetarian

Bar





4 / 5.0
By Rosie and Dick S.
Leisure traveler
80+ years
4 months ago (01/05/2017)

Wonderful! From the time of our arrival until the time we left we were treated with smiling, courteous and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent; breakfasts were a feast in themselves with choices of fish, fruit and full English breakfasts. Dinners were varied and beautifully cooked and well presented. Dogs are welcomed in certain bedrooms and Maria, the lovely Spanish lady who cleaned our room, fell in love with our springer, Misha. Our whole time with you was the best holiday we have had in a long while and we will certainly be back again this year. Thank you everyone for making us feel so much at home.

Location





5 / 5.0

Excellent - only a few hundred yards from the promenade and lovely and quiet

Room





4 / 5.0

A little on the small side but had all we wanted in terms of a lovely big bed and a bath and shower.

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0

Brilliant

Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0
Swimming pool





5 / 5.0
By Alison M.
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
4 months ago (24/04/2017)

We had a lovely break, and wish it could have been longer. thank you

Location





5 / 5.0

level access to the town and seafront

Room





5 / 5.0

Henry suite was spacious and comfortable

Cleanliness





4 / 5.0

Apart from the room which was a little dusty, the rest of the hotel and bathrooms are very clean

Service





5 / 5.0

Attentive and friendly service from all colleagues

Price





4 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0

Porridge and cooked breakfast - perfect

Restaurant





5 / 5.0

lovely varied menu, beautifully cooked and presented

Bar





5 / 5.0

Enjoyed the redesigned bar for drinks and coffee, bright and comfortably

By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
4 months ago (23/04/2017)

You kindly upgraded my room to a double, this resulted in a useable space . If I had been staying with my wife the room would have been too small.( for example- There are two small chairs which were uncomfortable and lacked leg room as they too close to the bed) That said I found the room reasonable.

Thank you for making a review, your comments are taken seriously and every effort is made to improve on our Guests' experiences.
Location





5 / 5.0
Room





3 / 5.0

Weak shower and not hot

Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





3 / 5.0
Price





3 / 5.0
Breakfast





3 / 5.0

Coffee looked strong but lacked any flavour, the sausages had similar problems

Swimming pool





3 / 5.0
By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
4 months ago (20/04/2017)

I was looking forward to staying at the Royal Glen as I had seen it on my previous visits to Sidmouth (stayed at the Victoria and the Harbour) But I was extremely disappointed, and that is an undestatement.

Location





5 / 5.0

Excellent location - close to the sea and shops. Good parking too.

Room





2 / 5.0

Extremely noisy both from both upstairs and from the room at the side. I could hear what the chap was doing in the bathroom adjacent to my room - not plesant at all and certainly not something I expected (or wanted) to hear.

Cleanliness





3 / 5.0

The toilet stopped working.

Service





3 / 5.0

The waiter in the dining room looked very bored and not very adept at silver service. Needs more training.

Price





3 / 5.0

It would have been o.k. if the noise hadn't been so loud and obtrusive.

Breakfast





4 / 5.0

o.k. but the bacon had so obviously been cooked quite some time before service. Tough and cold.

Restaurant





2 / 5.0

If I hadn't have known the meat was pork, I certainly could not have guessed from either the taste or texture of the meat. Extremely poor. Vegetables were undercooked (not al dente!!). The treacle tart had been microwaved to within an inch of its life - the pastry was rock hard and the treacle extremely chewy. For the poor quality of the meal it was very overpriced.

By P and K B.
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
4 months ago (20/04/2017)

The overall service excellent,all gave us the feeling that they loved working at the Royal Glen.Would come again and stay for a few more days.The location good and quiet suited us very well.Might go for a bedroom with bath and shower next.Will certainly try and come back next year/

Thank you for making a review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Location





5 / 5.0

Very good location,close to seafront shops and bus stop.

Room





5 / 5.0

Room small but suited for the few days we were there.

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0

We were very happy with service the staff were brilliant.

Price





5 / 5.0
Breakfast





5 / 5.0
Restaurant





5 / 5.0

The breakfast and dinner exceptional could not fault it or service,brilliant.

Bar





5 / 5.0
Swimming pool





5 / 5.0
Back to Top CERTIFICATE what's this?