ROYAL HIGHLANDHOTEL hotel logohotel logo
Our Customer Satisfaction Index
89%

"Excellent"

Based on 487 reviews
:
By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
2 weeks ago (19/04/2017)

Good but at prices charged breakfast should have been included. Our room overlooked the roof of the railway station and there was a train engine running all night which could be heard

Thank you for the review and we are disappointed that we did not come upto your expectation this time. We would be happy to get another opportunity to welcome and serve you so that you can have the same stay experience as the majority of our guests take back with them.
Thanking you once again and with our best regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0

Noise from railway station

Location





4 / 5.0

Convenient for city centre

Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





3 / 5.0
Price





2 / 5.0
By Alison S.
Leisure traveler
40-49 years
2 weeks ago (18/04/2017)

Our stay at The Royal Highland was amazing yet again, the friendliness of all staff, in particular housekeeping, Gail in the dining room at breakfast was the perfect start to the day and Louise on reception made you feel like a valued customer. I recommend this hotel at every opportunity. we look forward to future stays.

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





5 / 5.0

Louise on reception recommended this room as we had our dog Benny with us, the extra space was exceptional and the room extremely comfortable

Location





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0

Housekeeping could not do enough for us

Service





5 / 5.0

The service was fabulous throughout the hotel, the attention we received from Gail at breakfast was very welcoming, she knew us as having stayed previously and continued to make our stay most enjoyable. The staff in Ash were very accommodating and professional

Price





5 / 5.0

Extremely good value for money, which led us to increase the number of nights we stayed

By David T.
Leisure traveler
70-79 years
2 weeks ago (17/04/2017)

Excellent, Hotel, Service, Food. Only small trivial improvement for us would have been a Teapot at the breakfast, and perhaps a milk Jug.

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. We have noted your observations and Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0
Location





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
By Woodhouse
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
2 weeks ago (17/04/2017)

Wonderful character hotel. Fantastic choice of foods at breakfast

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





5 / 5.0

Clean and spacious

Location





5 / 5.0

Heart of city

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
By E A C.
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
2 weeks ago (16/04/2017)

Very pleasant. Helpful staff who found the little bag I had left on our first visit on 23.3.17. The shower in the room we stayed in on 1.4.17 was too small for my companion to fit in. He is not an obese person.

Thank you for the review and we are disappointed that we did not come upto your expectation this time. We would be happy to get another opportunity to welcome and serve you so that you can have the same stay experience as the majority of our guests take back with them.
Thanking you once again and with our best regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0

Both rooms bit small but clean & tidy good shower in first room.

Location





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





5 / 5.0
By Anonymous
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
2 weeks ago (15/04/2017)

It was a very pleasant stay. Breakfast good. The staff were excellent and most helpful. It was unfortunate that during my visit the fire alarm sounded on two occasions once at 0400hrs. However, the staff quickly turned them off and upon mentioning this at the reception desk I was told that the fire alarms were extra sensitive due to the building being Grade 1 listed. It turned out that each time the alarm sounded it was triggered by people leaving their shower room door open and the steam from the shower set the alarm off. This would not detract me from staying at this hotel again as it was so convenient for the railway station and the city centre.

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0
Location





4 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0
Price





4 / 5.0
By Mick A.
Leisure traveler
60-69 years
2 weeks ago (15/04/2017)

I've stayed at RH hotel many times and will continue to do so.

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





5 / 5.0
Location





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





4 / 5.0
Price





4 / 5.0
By PaulK
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
2 weeks ago (14/04/2017)

Hotel was ideal base for my weekend in Inverness & the north. 5 minutes from train station, across the river, so it was quiet but only a walk away from everything. Breakfast was superb, great selection & everything fresh, set me up for day.

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay. Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again. Please note that you get the Best Rates when booking through our own website - www.royalhighlandhotel.co.uk - and our very popular Deal of Deals Package is now extended till 12 May, 2017.
Best Regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





5 / 5.0

Small but was not in Inverness to stay in room.

Location





5 / 5.0

Right on riverbank across from castle & busy part of town, ideal.

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0

Spotless

Service





5 / 5.0

Not needed.

Price





5 / 5.0

Great value for 2 nights B&B.

By Linda
Leisure traveler
50-59 years
2 weeks ago (14/04/2017)

The only thing was when arrived staff wasn't helpful, as I'm disabled and need parking space all they told us was if you cant get any hotel space or train station then go to car park round corner. But after all that we really enjoyed

Thank you for the review and while we are happy that your stay was enjoyable but we are disappointed over your observation and shall initiate necessary corrective action. We would be happy to get another opportunity to welcome and serve you so that you can have the same stay experience as the majority of our guests take back with them.
Thanking you once again and with our best regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0
Location





5 / 5.0
Cleanliness





4 / 5.0
Service





5 / 5.0

Some members of stall wasn't very helpful

Price





5 / 5.0
By MAIRI M.
Leisure traveler
40-49 years
2 weeks ago (13/04/2017)

My mum and I loved the room and general surrounds of the hotel - even though our door handle fell off at one point (it was quickly fixed!). What makes me sad is that this is a hotel which could be brilliant, let down by poor staff training and/or attitude - clearly unfair on your guests, but also on those members of staff who DO take pride in a job well done, they must be embarrassed and frustrated by their colleagues who let them, your guests and the hotel's reputation down. Having worked in hotels in the past, in all departments (housekeeping, restaurant and bar, reception and duty management) I have a very realistic set of expectations and standards and only hope that these might be better matched on any return visit.

Thank you for the review and we are disappointed that we did not come upto your expectation this time. We would be happy to get another opportunity to welcome and serve you so that you can have the same stay experience as the majority of our guests take back with them.
Thanking you once again and with our best regards,
Indranil Banerjee, FIH
Group General Manager
Room





4 / 5.0

Lovely and comfortable, also very spacious - a negative would be the lack of a small table, with all the space it seems strange that this has not been thought of. If you wanted to sit together and have a drink in the armchairs you had to drag them over to the side. Would be so so much nicer if there were a table between the two armchairs, easily fixed I would imagine! Other wee niggle would be the beverages. Loads of milk but a bit mean with the coffee, and only one hot chocolate, fruit tea etc. It is a twin room so surely you should provide TWO of everything? Seems ludicrous that only one guest could choose to have a hot chocolate for example!

Location





5 / 5.0

Ideal!

Cleanliness





5 / 5.0
Service





1 / 5.0

I hate having to rate the service as poor and there ARE some exceptions. The lady (short hair and glasses) in charge of the breakfast room and afternoon tea on the Thursday was warm, friendly and very efficient, and the young woman who seemed to be in charge of housekeeping (she seemed to be training other staff) was also lovely, and kindly gave us plenty extra coffee when requested. On the whole though I found the barmen very dour and cold, though the female bar/restaurant staff were a bit friendlier. As for the reception staff... On a positive note, they seemed failry smiley. They totally lost my favour, however, for the following reason. Despite booking and paying for late check-out when I first booked, it had not been noted on my keycard. When I noticed this I went to the desk to point this out. I am not sure how good their English is because it took them a while to understand my point, at first replying that I could pay for late check-out on the day. When I finally made them understand that I had already paid - AND showed them the reservation confirmation email as proof - they told me that they had no record of this on my booking and told me that I had to forward them the said email!!!!! I thought this was extremely rude. It was your staff's fault that this information was not on your system and it was up to them to sort it. I had shown them the email, surely they could have just hit a button to rectify the matter. To demand that I send them the email that the hotel had sent me was ludicrous!!! The correct response would surely to be, "Oh, we apologise for our error. We will make sure that we your room is on our system for late check-out." My mood wasn't improved when I later went to use the Ladies', only to find it locked. On querying this at reception they shrugged it off, saying that there was something wrong with them and I could use the restaurant toilets. That was of course no problem in itself, but why was there no notice on the door of the locked-off toilets, just a simple courtesy to your guests? I should also comment on the lack of names of staff on any emails. Any reply I got was signed off with 'Regards' on one line and 'Regards' again on the line below! That seems to be very convenient for reception staff in terms of avoiding taking responsibilty for their actions - if their name is on the email they at least they can be held accountable, and any issue more easily resolved? Finally, I should also point out that I very much doubt that reservations are given the proper attention when first received: I had requested twin beds, and a walk-in shower if possible (alongside my late check-out!) when I booked. No response to this was given, and it was only when I emailed again just before our stay that I was told, and I quote, "Unfortunately we don’t have twin royal rooms with the walk-in shower. Anyway we will allocate a royal room with 2 beds. Regards Regards" (!!) That was fine, and my elderly mum managed into the bath, but the wording suggests that no member of staff had seen/paid any heed to my inital request. I had feared that the service may let the hotel down after reading many poor reviews, but did hope for the best. Hopes dashed I am afraid! I would love to stay again in the future as I am likely to be up in the area quite often visiting family but only if I could be assured of much better service.

Price





4 / 5.0
Back to top CERTIFICATE what's this?